horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Fame at Last

'Wait a minute,' I hear you cry, 'this photo looks the same as your blip on 2nd June...'

Well yes, that's cos it is the same shot. Now rendered in televisual form after being shown at the end of tonight's Springwatch. On last night's show they asked for examples of more unusual marine life around the UK; or marine life doing unusual things. So hell, I had the double whammy. They contacted me today to ask for permission to use the pic, with a warning that being live telly it was altogether possible it wouldn't be used. And with less than five minutes to go I'd given up hope. Before my day was made.

Although they did get my name wrong. Whenever I'm mentioned on the telly, or radio, or in the press (ooh, makes me sound like a celeb - it's sadly a less rare occurence than I'd like) Anthony becomes Antony (or in extreme examples Ant-knee) and Robson becomes Robinson (as it did on Springwatch) or Robertson...

Tonight I'm working away on the last ever monthly issue of my online cycling magazine. I've explained, some time ago when I took the decision to change direction, why this is all happening, so I won't bother going into it again. Thankfully I'm now more sure on what will be happening with the site over the next couple of months and then on into the future. And I've got a new Moleskine notebook for my own personal future plans. The novel ideas have an outlet so that the 10,000 words so far written can multiply. Thus far there's dialogue involving a break-up through the medium of Elvis; and Jesus being told that he's usurping the will of God...

In sadder news reading about a cyclist who was killed in Kirkliston was close enough to home to bring about that usual shift in perception that drivers have been more aggressive the last couple of commuting days. Mind you, there have been odd beeping moments. Twice in the last two days a driver has shot a red light and beeped at pedestrians who had started to cross ahead on the green man; and another driver (in a truck) this morning beeped the Mini in front when the lights went green - the Mini not having moved because there was a pedestrian in front of it. But then I found out that the chap who was killed (by someone now having been charged with drink driving) is a friend of a friend. She emailed from home (she works from home) basically looking for someone to chat to. I hope I managed to cheer her up at least a little... Puts your own worries and fears and troubles into perspective.

I get a basking shark photo on the television; this guy's girlfriend saw him killed in front of her and is lying in a hospital bed.

But you simply can't stop enjoying your good moments. Harsh though that might sound - there are bad things happening to people the world over every single second of the day - we can only do what we can do (donate to charity; campaign; try to help out friends), because otherwise we'd struggle to get out of bed in the morning every morning.

There but for the grace of your deity of choice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.