LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

A Woman's Work

The advantage of getting up so early in the morning is finding yourself the sole inhabitant of the world, or so it would appear.
With nothing else around except for a sea of gulls stomping for worms on the grass in the Meadows, and no traffic noise, the only things you hear are the dawn chorus and the sighing of the leaves on the trees in the slight breeze.

Even on the way home after an aerobic work out, the peace is still there. The gulls have gone and the sun is just about to appear over the top of the Gutted Haddie on Arthur's Seat. The clouds are like white cotton wool balls with a darker edge strung out over the pale blue sky to the east while towards the west the sky still has the pre sunrise gloom about it , but not for long as suddenly the sun appears as though a bright lamp has been turned on, and morning has come.

With his Lordship away to play in the hills with his band of merry men, it was all hands on deck back at the castle. With the difficulty in finding staff, it was on with my pinny and marigolds.
I cleaned my bike and cleared out the bike shed, took down the kitchen and living room curtains and washed them, cleared out the box containing a decade's worth of dusters and cleaning agents, emptied several more drawers and filled one sack for the charity shop, one for the landfill site and another bundle for the incinerator.
It's truly shocking how much there is in these drawers and cupboards which is totally redundant and which I am so relieved to be rid of.

I was just finishing ironing the curtains and their linings when his Lordship appeared back from the hills. Did you have a good day he asked. There was no answer to that. Sometimes men just don't get it do they?

This blip is the only one I took today and is of my compositor's tray containing all my little treasured things.

The little green china mug on the third shelf down is my oldest possession. I got it as a present at a birthday party when I was seven. This box will have to have somewhere to hang in the Dower House.

It's slightly more effective in BIG

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.