Please

Go and watch, then if you like RATE IT. -the son of one of my colleagues - a competition entry.

I achieved a personal record tonight - I was asleep within ten minutes of getting home from work. Home at 6.40, looked at the clock at 6.49, woke up at 9.10pm!

Was glad that I had put the work in ready for today, but having finally given up working at 1.30 this morning, before going to bed, not settling to sleep because I was fretting about what I might have forgotten, or who I might offend or upset whilst doing the delivery this afternoon, I think I only ended up getting about 5 hours sleep last night. It was the same on Sunday night into Monday morning - compounded by James waking at 2am with a spider in his room that needed removing! I was that tired that I got that weird thing where I feel like I have a raging temperature and I know that I am about to shutdown. So sleep, immediately, was necessary. I needed a system reboot!

Think it went OK today. Think I avoided putting my foot in my gob too many times. Hope that I haven't scared the living bejeezus out of everyone. Also hope that I didn't offend anyone - tried to be sensitive and not pick out any particular areas except for relevant examples. Difficult discussing information which strictly speaking is open info - its there for all of us to see in school - but maintaining a degree of consideration for colleagues. Twice in the past twelve months, with no intention to do so, I have made colleagues embarassed or uncomfortable in meetings by including data which they weren't aware of and which they felt reflected negatively. Sometimes it's a bit of a "rock and a hard place" situation. Things need to be discussed, out in the open, so that we can move forward. But it is in our nature to be defensive and to worry about implications and recriminations if things don't look right. I hope that I found the right balance this afternoon, and that despite the fact that what has been given out will now cause a short term but heavy workload for colleagues, that the long term gain of that will be of benefit to everyone.

If you haven't looked at this yet, please do.... Go and watch, then if you like RATE IT.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.