just be

By justbe

Fledgling's first outing

If I keep a green bough in my heart, the singing bird will come.

Chinese Proverb


I came home from my morning trip to the train station thinking about the blip I was going to capture out in the garden. It's very warm and humid already, very 'close' as my grandmother used to say. The AC is running in the house and the cats absolutely hate it. They were waiting for me to open the piazza door a crack so they could go out there and get some relief. It's a big heavy, noisy door and as I pulled it open I heard a loud chirp, much too loud to be coming from the trees or the lawn. Then I saw him, a lovely American Robin fledgling, still wearing his spotted suit of feathers, perched on a chair right outside the piazza screens. I dashed into the house, grabbed the ever ready Nikon and went out the driveway door. I managed to get two shots off before he let out another loud cheep and flew strong and steady to the crabapple tree on the lawn. I saw his watchful mother, waiting just below. What a hilariously ridiculous expression and I absolutely love the downy feathers on his sweet head. So much for the blip I was thinking about while driving home... another day!

Many thanks to all who kindly commented, awarded stars and favorites to my sparrow blip yesterday, he made the spotlight page, I'm thrilled.


American Robin

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.