Family cycle

Feeling much better today. I guess I just needed a good nights sleep.

I'm off for a cycle with Joe tomorrow and after his recent tales of long hauls up round Arthur's Seat and the likes I figured I should get a wee bit of a warm up. Roz, Maddy and I headed along the shore for Barnbogle. It was a nice run although Maddy had her work cut out as she opted for the BMX rather than her mountain bike.

It was a four or five mile run in all after which MAddy and Roz decided they'd had enough. I stopped for a wee sustenance break (ice cream and a latte) then decided to go a wee bit further. The plan was just to head for Dalmeny but by the time I got there I decided I really should find the cycle path to Kirkliston. By the time I got to Kirky it turned out it was only another mile to Newbridge so I went for it. All in it was about another 11 or so miles on top of the run with Roz and Mads.

It's the longest run I've done on my new bike so far. It wasn't out and out off road stuff but tehre were some fairly rough paths taking in uneven mud tracks, stony gravelly paths and grass sections. The bike held up well and justified my decision to go for a crosser rather than a road bike or tourer. It did feel a bit more sketch on the rougher stuff than my MTB but that's only to be expected, it does have thin wheels and no front suspension after all. Hopefully I'll not suffer too much for it tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.