Foggy Road!

It's not often that I am presented with such a strong and simple metaphor for my immediate state of mind! This shot was taken on my way home this evening!

We so often step away from paths that are unfamiliar to us, ones that we know will challenge us on a deep level. But for me,more often than not, I find this voice inside asking me - what do i have to loose!!! And so, with this sentiment in mind, I attended a meeting of a group of writers at the library. The idea for the evening was to have a word or a phrase given to us and then we had to write for 10 minutes, just write, whatever the phrase or word evoked. Then we had to read our piece to the group.....gulp!!! Here is one of my old familiar fears....reading aloud in public! It was rather intimidating to say the least, but also a hellova lot of fun!!! I love writing in my journal and have done so for over 30 years....but until lately have never allowed myself the space to explore what else I might want to write! The group comprised mostly of well healed experienced writers, some have been correspondents, some have had pieces published, but all them were so generous and accepting of my very newbie state of being! It is a humbling experience, especially when you are a teacher of some sort, to put yourself in a position of complete beginner! It not only helps me grow as a person, but it helps me be a more compassionate teacher myself.

I'm looking forward greatly to next months meeting!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.