Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Take me!

Up at 8.45 for final preparations for the Grand Prix lunch. Since the race was the European Grand Prix, taking place in Valencia, Carl came up with the idea of a bits & bites menu, tapas-style. It involved a lot of chopping and assembly and so on, with the only actual cooking element consisting of tortilla, a task which was entrusted to me. I'd never done tortilla before, but the gang who ate it said all the right things, even if it was too heavily potato based for my liking. Carl attended to the last tidying chores while I saw to the tortilla, after which we shared chopping duty and so on, just about being ready as the first guests arrived.

It was only six of us altogether, but we probably made enough noise for ten, not only shouting at the TV during the exciting bits of the GP (most especially when Mark Webber had his spectacular crash) and then later while watching England crash out of the World Cup. The weather was glorious, so some of the smoking breaks happened on the street outside Carl's house, which is when this abandoned sofa, outside a house a few doors up the street, shouted 'blip me'.

I'm a bit vague about when things broke up (around 9.00 pm, perhaps?), but Carl and I relaxed for a bit afterwards, and even managed to fit in a back episode of the Ballykissangel re-run. I got home around 11.30. A great day, and a hugely successful GP lunch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.