Iain with two ‘I’s

By iainkendall

"Proper Film"

A lunch from Well Hung and Tender on North Castle Street after rushing back from Jessops on Shandwick Place.

I was a little disappointed in Jessops today, I was going to buy 35mm film for my brother-in-law Matt and myself and our budget cameras. We go away on our family holiday later this week, an ideal chance to play with my Zenit-E, his Canon AV-1 and his recent charity shop bargain, Minolta Dynax 8000i. The films weren't a problem; a mix of Ilford FP4 and Fujifilm Superia 200 is what we decided on, but I also had a film to be processed:

"Sure, no problem. Name? What size prints to you want?"

"7 x 5 please"

"No problem"

He cracks open the case and pulls out the Ilford FP4.

"Oh...right...no, we can't do proper film...it needs to be sent away. We can do XP4 in an hour but this proper film would take a couple of weeks"

A COUPLE OF WEEKS!! Off to Trumps again, Jessops was just handy for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.