Mark Mayo, photographer

By marksmayo

Edinburgh - Great Scott!

So I travelled up to Edinburgh on Saturday for the All Blacks vs Scotland game. The train trip took an insane 6.5 hours, and with twice as many people as seats I had to stand the whole way. 75% of the passengers were Kiwis, which made it entertaining :)

Upon arrival, after walking out of the station the first thing I noticed (before the castle, which stupidly I didn't get any photos of!!) was the Scott Monument. This Gothic Monument has 287 steps, is 200ft high, and is in memory of Sir Walter Scott.

Amusingly, it is said that the best view in all of Edinburgh is from the top of that monument, as anyone looking out from the top would be guaranteed to have a view which did not contain the monument itself. I didn't think it looked that bad ;)

Oh, I did this in HDR as well this time, subtle, but I think it helps accentuate the details of the Gothic architecture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.