Less is more

I had a discussion today about Photoshop and whether or not it's cheating. Not a new topic of conversation round these parts, I know.

We decided between us, H and I, that it's not cheating if you just do what you would do in the darkroom. A bit of cropping, tweaking contrast and saturation and maybe getting rid of something you don't want in the shot. That's okay. H felt that if you made the photograph look like a painting or some such; that was just covering up that you couldn't take decent photos.

Here I had to disagree. She was painting at the time and I likened my photoshoppery to her sort of art. I paint very badly, I always have. So instead I take photographs. Sometimes I like to photoshop the heck out of my shots (not very often, it has to be said). It's my way of expressing the 'look' I'm going for.

More often than not, I just crop and adjust colour and contrast. I like to apply a photo-filter sometimes too. However, I could buy said photo-filter to pop on my lens. I'm just too tight to buy a range! I have found over the years that my eye has improved to the point where I can take a shot better without the need to crop as much. So that's progress!

So when I saw this shot of my beautiful Pio and had to do a bit of 'deleting' didn't feel too bad. He was being all cruisy and chilled out while I got angry with the lawnmower (which wouldn't start). I popped it up on the screen and that was when I realised there was a nice neat pile of Cousteau faeces sitting next to him. I am sure everyone would much rather that I gave a quick flick of the magic healer than leave that little gift for you!

Hope you're having a great Saturday. Mine's going pretty well so far.

Hasta mañana.

Oh, and YES, I have most definitely 'tweaked' the colours on this one! I wanted his eyes to stand out. They are a great colour but I wanted to make them match the vibrancy of the grass! Mea culpa!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.