horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Guerilla Tactics

Tonight I became a misfit... If you want to see what's wrong with British cycling provision in a nutshell then this image should do it. The top image greeted me en route home tonight. Not my regular route, but one I know well - the sign warns drivers that ahead two lanes will be going down to one... By blocking the cyclists' lane... And no, I checked, there isn't an equivalent sign 100 yards back warning cyclists that some dimwitted scrotal sack has taken away that particular lane to warn of a lane being taken away.

I saw this from the car about a week ago - seems people have been dealing with being evicted from the lane early for at least that long. But on the bike I can stop more easily. Initially I'd intended on just getting the shot to show the paucity of thought when it comes to cycling facilities in the Uk then muttered "Fuck it," to myself and hauled the sign into a gap beside the wheelie bin.

I presume my face will be on a 'wanted' signs the length, breadth and depth of Edinburgh now... Probably blocking the cycle lanes.

It 'aint a good lane, truth be told, running beside parked cars, with a poor surface. But it's there, and I'm damn well going to assert its right to be so. And yes, I'll be riding this route again tomorrow and shifting it again if it has been moved back out.

I'm like some kind of cycling superhero... Or something...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.