An Apple a Day...

By anappleaday

Milestone

The Flying Notebook

With its spiraling metal body
and white pages for wings
my notebook flies over my bed while I sleep ?

a bird full of quotations and tiny images
who loves the night?s dark rooms
glad now to be free of my scrutiny and my pen point.

Tomorrow, it will go with me
into the streets where I may stop to look
at my reflection in a store window,

and later I may break a piece of bread
at a corner table in a restaurant
then scribble something down.

But tonight it flies around me in circles
sailing through a column of moonlight,
then beating its paper wings even more,

once swooping so low
as to ripple the surface of a lake
in a dream in which I happen to be drowning.

~Billy Collins in "The Trouble with Poetry"


******************************************************************

In the words of the illustrious Treegonk, "I need a break. I have had a fantastic time and I will be hovering around I'm sure, but I wont be blipping for a while."

Making it from blip 200 to blip 300 was a very difficult journey with many highs and lows. I definitely plan to blip from here to my 365 but I feel like I will be more free and more creative without the daily "blipping" that goes along with all the daily blipping. You know what I mean? I plan to post the next 65 once they are complete but that should give me a good two months rest for my heart and my mind which have been very much affected by this little website and its community. I need to find out whether I can take all that I have gained from Blipfoto and either come back renewed or learn to let it go.

I will miss keeping up with your lives on a daily basis but I will check in now and then to spy on you! ;)

*****************************************************************
If you have a moment, please check out my favorite blips from the last 300 days of my life. Some are my favorites for the photos themselves, some for being what I consider "the essence of blip", some for being creative breakthroughs, and some just because:

Opposites!
Self Portrait in the Belly of a Sparkly Pig
Blip
Friends
Journal
A Farewell to Webcam Blips
My Favorite
Shine On You Crazy Diamond
La Mer
TTV - SP
Crappy D
Home
A Day in the Life
Mr. Apple
Blip
Bike
Wilting
I'm Just Going to Go Out and Blip a Flower
Look how far we've come
Out in the Boondocks
After the Storm
Snowstorm
A Good Omen
Not the best day
Untitled
The highlight of the day (for both of us)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.