Summer reading

So I stocked up on summer reading over the last we while. I've still got stuff in the house I've been meaning to get round to for ages but I fancied some new books for the summer.

I've just finished Pandaemonium by Christopher Brookmyre. The general plot is that a group of senior students from St Peter's Roman Catholic High School go for a bonding session at an outdoor centre in the highlands to get over a fellow student's murder, meanwhile a military scientific project nearby fear that they might have literally unleashed the forces of hell.

It was genuinely quite disturbing in points but also incredibly funny at other points. A very good blend of comedy and horror.

Next up will probably be the Amatuers by John Niven. I read his first book "Kill your friends" which was a bit twisted but very good so I've been looking forward to this one which is about an odd combination of golf and crime. I'll give feedback later.

As for the millennium trilogy by Stieg Larsson, several people have recommended it to me so I'm looking forward to getting cracking on that.

The Frankie Boyle one was a bit of an afterthought since Tesco were doing buy one get one free and I wanted to buy all the millennium trilogy at once. Looks promising all the same.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.