Pieces of a Jigsaw Puzzle

By szahra

Can you please take my picture?

I normally get my blips when I least expect it. After work I started driving to go home and was on one of my normal routes when I saw some pottery outside the wall of a white marbled mosque. I stopped my car to take a shot of beautiful pottery with pretty patterns and cut work stacked outside the mosque. After taking a couple of shots and being satisfied with one of them, I came back and sat in my car. Just when I was about to start the car, a small kid knocked on my window. I rolled it down expecting him to be a beggar. But, in a very keen voice the little kid asked me in Urdu/Punjabi "Can you please take my picture?". I was taken aback but by looking at the innocence in his eyes, I asked him to smile while I took his picture. Just when I was about to show him the photo and ask him his name, he just ran away.

The rest of the way, I thought of the little dude and I decided to put this one up instead of the one I had intentionally taken for my journal. After all, he had effected me enough for him to be a small piece in my jigsaw puzzle :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.