andypowe11

By andypowe11

Preparations

I have 14 Google maps of my Land's End to John O'Groats route - tediously entered into gmap-pedometer by yours truly based on the instructions supplied as part of the UK CTC YHA route. Now I'm copying the route onto paper maps - the pages from a 2.5 inch to the mile route planner. The finished thing will cover about 30 A4 sheets I think - possibly a bit more (Update: just finished... it's actually 35).

I'm also now significantly poorer after buying a rear rack, panniers, mud-guards, waterproof clothing and so on for the journey.

Picked up a car bike carrier from a friend yesterday, which will get me and my bike to Land's End bright and early on Sunday. Was also loaned a good quality lightweight tent by a colleague at work - this would be handy in case any of my chosen YHAs are full but I'm not totally sure I want to carry it (it's very light but a bit bulky).

God, I hope it is worth it!

My last problem is working out which charity(ies) to support. Well, I'm sure that isn't my last problem but it is what is occupying me at the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.