a day in the life of Jack

By jacksmom726

Surprise Sunflower!!

I have been watching this little 'stalk' over by our stone wall for about a week now...it's in an area with some rose bushes and lots of bird feeders and birdhouses. I was thinking it reminded me of a sunflower, but I have never planted any so I figured it had to be a weed. But I just couldn't get myself to pull it out with the other weeds...

....and so I waited....and waited....


....and today, I walked outside to check it out and this is what I found!!!!

I suppose a few of the sunflower seeds from the bird feeders dropped out and managed to avoid being eaten by the birds. There are a couple of more smaller stalks too with heads on them probably ready to bloom in the next few days!

What a wonderful surprise!!!


I also just wanted to thank everyone for their very nice comments on my photos, I don't always get a chance to personally thank everyone. I really appreciate you spending the time looking at them, it really means a lot to me! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.