Flying-leap

By flying

The Old Barn

The Old Barn

Just down the road...around the bend,
Stands an empty barn; nearing the end.
It has sheltered no animals for many years;
No dairy cows, no horses, no sheep, no steers.
The neigh of a horse; the low of a cow;
Those sounds have been absent for some time now.
There was a time when the loft was full of hay,
And the resounding laughter of children at play.
At one time the paint was a bold shade of red;
Gradually faded by weather and the sun overhead.
The doors swing in the wind...the hinges are loose;
Windows and siding have taken a lot of abuse.
The fork, rope and pulleys lifted hay to the mow;
A task that always brough sweat to the brow.
But those good days are gone; forever it seems,
And that old barn now stands with sagging beams.
It is now home to pigeons, rats and mice;
The interior is tattered and doesn't look very nice.
Old, abandoned barns have become a trend,
Just down the road...around the bend.

~Vincent Oliphant~

Mum and I did our groceries today and then went for a little explore. We came across this old barn/shed. Its looks like two sheds joined together by a middle section. The roof of the middle is very rusty and practically falling down. I'll be back to blip this some more.

Today is the eve of my Photoshop workshop. I will be learning and experimenting all weekend. Its a beginners workshop starting with the very basics, a great place to start and I'm so looking forward to it.

Other news, which is very exciting - I have a new camera!! Wow, its small and compact and suits my little hands. Its so much better than my other point and shoot as it has wide angle for landscapes and macro and super macro for those wonderful flower shots that I love taking.

And Daughter E has decided to give me a challenge - hmmm not sure about this! She doesn't think I can go a week without blipping a flower or a leaf. Well its probably a great time to take this challenge on, as theres not too much in the garden, but I have a new camera and to be honest I do tend to fall back on the garden soooo often. I will have a little think over the weekend but what do you blippers think????

Have to go now, lots to do before my workshop tomorrow - have an awesome weekend everyone :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.