crystaltips

By crystaltips

favourite things #2

Greengages - I love them!

Not just because they are so tasty, but because they are one of the few truely seasonal fruits left.
They will only be on the shelves for the next 4 weeks or so and I will do my utmost to support the market by eating as many as I can ;-)

There is something special about getting the first of any seasonal produce, it really marks the passing of the seasons, but due to supermarkets & 'airmiles' food (as well as the weather) they all seem to be merging into each other.

I remember as a child the excitement of getting the first rhubarb, strawberries & rasps - and all the better if you had been to PYO (pick your own) small holdings ;-)

The only slight cloud is that greengages also mark the beginning of the end of summer - but bring on the autumn berries & the first frost brussel sprouts :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.