Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Looking down, 4

The day began with a bit of an emergency. I got a phone call from my next-door neighbour last night to tell me that my car had a puncture. Not good news, because I really intended doing some shopping for new gear for our trip to Budapest and didn't fancy the inconvenience of having to attend to a puncture -- anyway, my wrist definitely isn't up to struggling with wheel nuts in the state of recovery it's at right now. Google to the rescue. I phoned a crowd called Dial-A-Tyre at 8.30 am, they were here by 10.00, and the puncture was repaired within ten minutes. I didn't know there such a thing as a mobile puncture repair service. I'm sure glad there is.

It was an amazing day today, dry, bright and warm (warmer, indeed, than many days during the months of our so-called Summer). As it happened, even with the car back in working order I didn't go shopping after all. I did some work in the morning and went out for a breath of fresh air and an abortive blip expedition at midday. I did some more work after lunch, but felt myself getting increasingly restless by mid afternoon, not only because the weather was so nice, but mainly because today's blip wasn't sorted. (three)56's watery blip had already given me an idea for another post in this Looking down series, and by 3.30 pm I'd had enough and headed over to Bull Island, intending to lean over the rickety wooden bridge and blip the sea. I should have checked the tide. I did get some okay-ish shots of seaweed and sand and steps, and I was reasonably happy with some of what was on the memory card, but the intended blip of seawater under the bridge wasn't a runner. Then the sun began to dip in the sky, the light changed, I got transported off into unplanned directions, and I ended up with a goodish crop which will provide fodder for my other photo blogs. Some of the unplanned material did at least adhere to my self-imposed theme, including this one of a bollard at the end of the bridge which I offer up as today's blip.

p.s. Trust me, this 'Looking down' series does have a point, and it's due to reach its climax tomorrow (if all goes well and according to plan).

p.p.s. We fly to BUDAPEST tomorrow afternoon for a few days (back Tuesday night). I'll take the iBook with me so I can clean out the memory card each evening, but I don't know if it will be feasible to blip while away. If not, I'll do catch-up when we return.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.