New Lanark to Stirling

This is Steve and Matt, who I met in the first YHA, way back in Golant, and who have been in the same youth hostels as me pretty much every night of the trip. Here, they are just leaving New Lanark (heading up the hill) after a fairly leisurely start this morning. We're not doing the rides together as such - but we usually cross paths once or twice each day and it is great to have someone regular to talk to or go for a drink with at each stop - basically, these guys are keeping me sane!

I had my first YHA cooked breakfast and packed lunch today - both very good - a really nice surprise for myself when I checked in last night. I'd forgotten I'd ordered them when I booked online a couple of weeks ago.

It's been a funny day's riding. The morning went thru some rather rundown areas on the east side of Motherwell/Glasgow - not particularly pleasant and the route was quite tedious to follow. I had to concentrate quite hard not to get lost and had to keep getting my iPhone out to double-check where i was.

But the afternoon took me up and over the Kilsyth Hills between Glasgow and Edinburgh. It was a bit of a climb to get up there but, once done, the views were amazing - a bit like being on top of Dartmoor again. And that was followed by a 5 mile downhill section to get into Stirling - freewheeling all the way.

I stopped off in the centre of Stirling to pick up some hi-energy sports drink mixes for the rest of the trip. The centre of the shopping area didn't feel safe enough to leave my panniers and stuff unattended so I had to take my bike right into the shop while I nipped upstairs to buy the drinks. They didn't seem to mind.

Stirling YHA is in a lovely building, right in the middle of the old part of town (and right next door to the old gaol). Oh... and right at the top of a hill! :-)

By the way - just a quick reminder that this ride is for charity. Details on my End to Groats website. Any donations (via Virgin Giving) greatfully received.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.