A lovely gift!

During the FIFA World Cup Event and sharing of stamps, I met Zhang from faraway China.

I sent a few FIFA mementos from our country to Zhang, a scholar, teenager, and obviously loving all things to do with football.

Today I was overwhelmed when I found this lovely envelope, with it's special contents, in the mailbox. Apart from a beautiful card, written from cover to cover with information about his hometown, he wrote a few 'everyday' phrases in Chinese handwriting - and what a lovely surprise to find my name amongst them!

I simply love the stamps, too!

Most special was the Chinese paper-cuts he sent .... I doubt whether I have ever seen something so delicate and gossamer at the same time so colorful ... To perceive these motifs as cut outs, is almost unthinkable. The fine cutting work involved, done to perfection, is simply too good to be real. Mention is made of a s-scissors used for this art form - I cannot imagine scissors small? enough to do the 'markings' on some of the motifs .. and everyone done to perfection.

An information leaflet mentions that these motifs may be pasted onto lintels, windows or lanterns. But being so fine and delicate - how will it be handled without being damaged? I guess that there must be some special way.

In the left bottom of the image a part of one such motif is visible.

To my friend, Zhang, once again thank you for a beautiful, traditional gift.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.