Me and Max

By grete

Follow the Lead, Go With the Flow

To Annelie and Eveline

I had a plan.

After yesterday´s continual rain, the sun was back. I had just read Nordic Angel´s story of beautiful Eveline. I wanted a sun drenched scene with deep shadows. I wanted to quote Wendell Berry. I wanted to create a tribute to a daughter, a mother and a family who has walked over wide open fields and into woods with deep shadows. And who came from among trees to share their experience.

I am not bound for any public place,
but for ground of my own
where I have planted vines and orchard trees,
and in the heat of the day climbed up
into the healing shadow of the woods.


(from A Standing Ground by Wendell Berry)

But my plan failed.

I searched out for shadows, but found none.
At least no interesting ones.
Instead I found this.
A child playing around a tree.

It is still my tribute.
A tree. Old and solid. Like an elephants foot.
And a child. Playing carefree and happy by its roots.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.