Life.turns Pic #5

I am going backwards from 8 so this is the 4th pic of me not the 5th.

We arrived home to 4 fire trucks out the front of the building and what looked like most of the residents standing on the footpath. There was some type of fire on the 19th floor and everyone had to get out. I decided to check out our place and grab some stuff quickly in case we had to stay in a hotel. Can't stay in a hotel in China unless I have my passport and I don't carry it with me. Not sure if I was supposed to, but no one stopped me so I jumped in the elevator and came up.. Smoke everywhere so I grabbed a towel and wet it and grabbed my passport (and computer.. gotta BLIP) and went back down, once again int he elevator. Would NEVER be allowed anywhere else I don't think.

There are a lot of younger people from India who are studying Medicine at a nearby University, who live in the building and they were milling around downstairs. The fire had started in one of their apartments and one had been taken to the local police station for questioning. Since few of them spoke much Chinese, Terri offered to be their translator. So we went to the police station to help out. It about took 3 hours but she helped them a lot. Don't know the final outcome of the 'investigation. We left as soon as Terri felt she had done her job.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.