John Van de Graaff

By VandeGraaff

Remove Old Bills

It was raining in Northampton around midday today, so I didn't linger long in getting Sunday's paper (delivery was still suspended, since we were back early from our brief sojourn in New Hampshire). I almost put up an alternative blip (in fact a rather innovative one), but I decided I could improve on it the next rainy day.

I'm on Market Street, looking past the intersection with Bridge Street, very near the center of "downtown." I've considered this shot for blip status many times, but until today it had always been beaten out by another image, or the board was too completely covered by posters (mainly for musical events--rock and such); the admonition at the top had to be at least mostly legible. I didn't notice the red car at the time, but it certainly adds something. It's hard to avoid bricks in blipping Northampton--here are three iterations!

The two-block stretch of Market Street behind me has provided several other blips in the past few months--e.g. here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.