BernardYoung

By BernardYoung

Body Talk

Body Talk

Tucked away, in the depths
of the freezer, among the
chicken breasts and loaves,
is his cold shoulder.

His wild roving eye is a-roving
no longer.
His bloody cheek
is in the dustbin.

The spleen he used to vent is adrift
with the finger he never used to lift.
The back of his hand
is in the glove compartment.

And this? You know what this bit is.
Its a pain in the arse.
He used to trouble me with it
three times a week. Of course

I looked for his heart
in the padlocked chest
of our questionable marriage
but his heart wasn't in it.

I looked and I hacked
and I chopped and I hoped
and I searched and I sliced
and I and I and I

cancelled my order with the family butcher.
I cancelled the papers and milk.
I opened my mouth
and put his foot in it.


Poem copyright Bernard Young


The image I've used is a small section from 'Rope Dancer' by Jon Whitaker.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.