The Artist's Eye

By ArtistAnnie

Siyuan Li and Cole Anderson

Remember these names. I'm quite sure we'll all be hearing more from these two young musicians. Currently they are piano students at Oberlin University. But one day they will be internationally known pianists. Of this I'm sure.

I've known Cole for many years. His mom, Deborah, and I were hosts of music programs on our local PBS radio station a long time ago. Deb hosted guitar music since she is a fine classical guitarist and teacher. I hosted choral and vocal music since at the time I was a singer. We both presented local music on our shows which were back to back on Sundays. We became friends during the short time between shows when she was vacating the studio and I was getting ready to do my show. She's also my husband's guitar teacher. So I've watched Cole grow from a musical kid to a first class musician.

Siyuan is from China. She and Cole met at Oberlin. She is also a world-class pianist and together they are going somewhere I know. Today they played a concert at the Whatcom Museum in Bellingham. It was amazingly wonderful. I hadn't heard Sijuan before and like the rest of the audience I was blown away by her amazing playing. Hooray for both of these wonderful young musicians!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.