Multitasking

I did a bit of multitasking myself today.

Another 'food chain' at work officially came into being today post-restructure. We got all the affected/new websites live. I started juggling two presentations for next week along with site launches. One is to senior management which will be a new experience.

Last night was late but tonight won't be. We had another unsatisfactory communication from the hospital. At least they phoned Dad but then they didn't tell him why they were shifting Mum. So a phone call later I had the story and could explain what was gong on. Goodness knows why they didn't just explain it to begin with and save all the anxiety and distress.

Mum has been shifted from the rehab ward back to the surgical ward she was in. The latest setback is serious and she needs to be where the appropriate attention can be given.

This time Mum has her own spacious room, a special air mattress and she should be less disturbed at night and better able to sleep. Her surgeon acknowledged she needs sleep. The air bed will prevent bed sores. For the next while, possibly some weeks she will be fed intravenously to give her gut a holiday.

It will take careful monitoring and daily assessment, and she is to have more tests to check what is going on.

I'm glad she has such good care and her surgical team is keeping such a close eye on her. But I know the possibility of weeks more in hospital is hard too. Oddly I find it reassuring. It's preferable to being shunted out the door too early. But I know the road seems longer than ever.

Mum isn't seeing blip so I'm going to make cards of my photos and send them every few days. I've started already :-)

One thing that really pleases me is Mum's attitude. She's been issued with a walker. 3 weeks ago Mum walked at least half an hour most days. She's delighted with the walker as it has hand brakes along with 4 wheels!

What a woman.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.