Tour de Delhi

It couldn't really have been called anything else could it? Showcasing the best of Delhi, the route circled around the India gate, the Parliament, the seat of the government, the Rashtrapati Bhavan (where the President resides) and so on. No potholes at all this time. The routes usually crowded were cordoned off for us. I was torn between stopping to shoot and riding on. The event was a photographer's paradise. I was trying to keep up with a couple of riders, one was my friend V and the other a 50-year old European cyclist who clocked 33 km/h through the complete route! I kept up with them for about 5-6 km after lagging behind a little bit. In the amateur category, where I was happy to get an invite to participate, this was no race, just a ride to the finish. It was a 24 km circuit that took me about 50 mins. But there were at least 30 to 40 people who were done before I was.

When we started, the sun was merciful and the light absolutely fabulous. Riding down the inclined stretch from Rashtrapati Bhavan to India gate, a grey blur in the mist, the road lined with cyclists of all shapes, colours and speeds with the monument at a distance, the view was stunning. This is beautiful Delhi and it was great being a part of the event.

Later we stopped for lunch at a famed South Indian food place on Janpath called Sharavana and after a prolonged and delicious meal I was in no mood to ride the last 35 km back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.