A word

"We set up a word at the point at which our ignorance begins, at which we can see no further..."

Well that is how it begins, the master paving the way with the largest irony of them all. To me that is what the best writers do. They surpass the limitations of language by creating their own. Speaking of language, I am increasingly reminded of table-tennis which seems to have been relegated to an old dusty file at the back of my cupboard, labelled The Past.

When my friend and I used to play late into the evenings, what ensued was communication. Without the limitation of words. Beyond their scope. Once you have played this way, playing casually becomes quite a compromise. I remember people stopping their games for a while just to watch and often urge us on. Someone remarked very accurately, "You both know each other's game so well." Our styles were contrasting and victories almost evenly shared. One of the things that made it special for me is the honesty in this form of communication, which I believe surpasses the verbal. There is no trickery to resort to, no veils to draw in between, no ambiguity to hide behind. You see each other's vulnerabilities as clearly as you see their strengths. And bonds formed in the process aren't based on illusion.

I would resume if I could.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.