The calm after the storm

People just looked shocked and strained as they go about their Sunday business.

We had Mass at a friend's house this morning. The Cathedral is not to be used.

It was nice. Almost felt like a wee community.

I've spoken to a few old people around the area to see how they are doing. Everyone I've spoken to has got away very lightly after the quake.

I have some biggish cracks in the ceiling and now realise that I have no idea what one does about that. I'm pretty sure they're not structural. I'll ask my flatmate's fiance (he's a builder) if he can take a look for me.

Every now and then I cry, thinking how fortunate we've been. Thinking about those who haven't been so lucky. Thinking how blessed we all were to have no major casualties.

Today my thoughts go to those who are starting the tidy up and to those who lost their lives in the aeroplane crash yesterday.

Puts so much into perspective.

On a good note, my Auntie B is feeling much chirpier in hospital all the way away in England. She's going to have a pacemaker fitted.

Anyway, procrastination must end here. I can help no-one right now. Everyone I know is safe and well. The boys have gone fixing chimneys and the like. I'm going to try and settle to some study. Not an easy task since I don't really care about that right now. I guess someone will ask if they need me. I hope.

Tomorrow's another day.

Today you get a Barking beach shot complete with ominous clouds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.