Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

The Game

The Game. Football. And I am just now starting to understand the rules. And this is slightly sad considering that all throughout my youth, my Dad was a defensive line coach. You would think that I would know everything about the game but no, when I went to the games....it was all about candy, pop, and walking around in a huddle with my friends.

One of my best childhood memories involves this football stadium. When I was around 10 years old, my Dad's team made it to the State Play-offs. One morning my Dad came into my room and said, "Guess what, you get to miss school today and come to Autzen Stadium with me and my team". "WHAT????, really Dad???" It was one of the best days of my life. I was so proud of my Dad and I got to ride on the team bus up front with all of the coaches. I got to wear my football sweatshirt with my name custom printed down the sleeve and most importantly, I got to spend the whole day with my Dad watching him coach football. I can remember that day so vividly. The players giving me high fives. Walking alongside my Dad as he sketched notes on his clipboard. Holding a brand new football under my arm. Feeling like I was the most important and lucky 10 year old around.

So as I sat up in the stands today and tried to concentrate on the rules of the game, I couldn't help but see the younger version of me.....the little 10 year old girl walking along the side lines with her thoughtful and generous Dad. My Dad who always taught me to reach my goals with determination and passion. To never give up. And to never let anyone tell you that you aren't good at something. Because, "you can be good at anything that you set your mind to". Absolutely essential words for a young girl to constantly hear from her Dad. Words that have helped in making me the type of person, mother, wife and friend that I am today.

Football. To me, it is so much more than just a game.

Oh and we won. The score was something like 68-0.

(backblipped yesterday)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.