ThisIs_WillCarroll

By willcarroll

Less is more

I don't see very much of Robin these days.

But it is fitting that my 100th Blip tells the story of our coming together this evening. We just met for a coffee at Starbucks. We leant over our elbows sharing news from the past few months, and cradled mugs in our hands. We'd both come straight from work (although Robin worked from home), so our minds were full of the day. I was moving on to a church meeting later on- but I think Robin was done.

We first met a couple of years ago. I can't recall quite how. I do remember where. Robin was one of the first people to encourage me to pick up a camera. I'm grateful for that. His has been less well used recently, so perhaps I can return the favour, kind of...

I did take a proper portrait, but this seemed more fiting. I like anonymous shots, even when people are happy to be identified. There is something permissive about them. They invite people to participate in the story of the image- leaving room for the mind's eye of the beholder to work it's magic.

Sometimes less is more in photography.

But never when it comes to friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.