FauxPunk

By FauxPunk

Waterside Boy

Continuing my theme of Urban Portraits - I'm sorry if this is starting to bore you already, but I'm really getting into it muahahahaha. It's just fun playing with different angles, and trying to get the camera to work in the challenging lighting conditions. I've made a vow to myself not to do too much photo-shopping - the most I really want to do is maybe the odd selective crop or rotate. I've been true to my word so far! To keep the shutter speed up, I've been increasing the ISO, and I like the effect I'm getting. Using Exposure compensation seemed a little bit too much like cheating, but I look at raising the ISO as the same as an old school photographer selecting their film to suit the conditions? Though maybe even back then the purists may have considered that cheating.

Anyway, here's Mathew at Waterside multi-storey Car Park in Cardiff Bay. I was hit by inspiration around lunch time, thinking that these kinds of car parks would provide the ultimate urban concrete/metal backdrops I was looking for in this lil project. Immediately txt Mathew who agreed, but he was at work, and I had to go do some overtime, meaning that it was another 23:30ish effort. Works well at night though, I think.

Tonight felt very productive, so have added 6 (including this one) shots to flickr. This was my favourite though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.