dailykeith

By dailykeith

Chain reaction

I don't think I've ever seen as many bikes in one place as I did at Temple Meads station in Bristol today.

The photo tells only part of the story - there were hundreds more behind me.

That's an awful lot of cars not on the road, which can only be a good thing.

Bristol is officially a 'cycling city'. As such, it has been awarded £22.8 million to promote and encourage cycling through better infrastructure, training and promotion.

It aims to double the number of regular cyclists by next year, and looking at the number of bikes here it would seem that they are well on their way to achieving it.

Bristol is also the headquarters of Sustrans, the charity that promotes sustainable transport. Its National Cycle Network has created over 10,000 miles of cycle routes across the UK.

Well, I'll be moving to Bristol shortly and I think I could well be forgetting the car and joining the two-wheel brigade.

I just need to find somewhere to put it!

* Thanks to my colleague Paula for the tip-off on this blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.