Close encounters with the soil

I ate mud today. And then I spat it out. Ate some more mud. Spat out some more. Of course, this was not on my own volition, but there was a regular unstoppable supply. And after a point I gave in. When I returned home, I was more mud than myself. We had completed a 100+ km ride in five hours including breaks. The terrain was only mildly undulating, but for about 70% of the time, the roads were excellent. For the remaining bits, as we crossed villages, it was more puddle than road. We were prepared for a long one today, so most of us carried food and spare tubes.

The weather was perfect. Rain that accompanied us almost all through the ride was mild and there was no sun to speak of. But no matter which way we turned it just seemed like we were battling against a head wind. Surely I am imagining this. What began as a team of ten riders ended with five. Our slightly pompous organizer dropped off midway without notification. After a while of waiting it was inevitable, they wouldn't come.

If the leader of the ride had his way today, we would have done about 150 km, but that would have been a real challenge for me. Maintaining our steady pace would have been tough. Interesting, but slightly irritating is how much attention we receive during our halts. Especially if it is on the outskirts of the city, the villagers come pouring in until there is a little crowd. They waste no time trying to fiddle around with the gears and whatever gear they can get their hands on. Bit of firmness is needed to ward them away. Even vehicles passing by often cheer for us, passengers on buses inquire if we are in a race or something. Cycling is yet to really pick up here, but I suppose it will.

The most beautiful part of the ride today, perhaps even more so than the verdant scenery was riding in sync. There were long stretches of time, through which we rode in absolute silence, when the only sound we could hear was from the rotating chains.

Another interesting bit would be the incident I had been somewhat apprehensive about. Five of us were riding in a single file separated by a few inches when suddenly a large bus arrived from the other side. We were relatively fast and when the bus swerved without warning in its attempt to avoid a couple of large potholes of slush, we had to brake suddenly. I brought up the tail of our file and didn't anticipate how strongly we needed to brake. Unfortunately, the front wheel came to a strong halt and my cycle toppled over. I was thrown right in front, but landed very neatly on my gloved hands, comically or athletically, I don't know, and ended up with minor bruises on both my knees. Within a moment I was up and we proceeded as normal. But for me the interesting moment was during the fall and how serious injury was averted. Our reflexes are fascinating things, there is no conscious awareness and it feels as if there is another entity within who protects you.

Neat ride. And now for the rest of the day.

P.S. My last 100 which had left me absolutely drained unlike this one had produced a strange collage too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.