Kaybees Bits

By Kaybee

Day 10

Day 10

Dubrovnik.
I can?t get used to this putting the clocks forward - now put them back again.
Still, it gave us an extra hour in bed which was probably needed after last nights deck party and a night of drinking doubles.

A lovely morning coming into Dubrovnik in Croatia.
And what an impressive bridge.

After going ashore and heading into the old town SWMBO and I started off by walking round the city wall.
After taking ages to climb up there (SWMBO can have problems with steps and there are a lot here) the views are spectacular - both into and out of the old town.
My problem is I do not like heights and the parapet for a lot of the way is between knee and hip height on me and the wall is very narrow.
But I managed without falling off.

It is very strange walking around and looking into peoples houses and the school etc and being totally ignored. Still - with the hundreds of thousands of people visiting every day they must be used to it.

I loved the roofs (yes - I know ?. I am weird) and took loads of pictures of them.

When the city was being shelled during the war in 1992 (yep - that short a time) the vast majority of the roofs were damaged or destroyed and the replacement tiles are a much redder colour than the yellow/burnt ocre of the originals because they are no longer made - and haven?t been for a long, long time (they were made to last and did ?.. About 200 years apparently).

Dubrovnik was one of the two places on this trip that I have always wanted to visit - and I wasn?t disappointed. It is the sort of place where you can sit at café tables in the cool of the narrow alleys and just ?people watch? all day ???? brilliant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.