Life Uncommon

By lifeuncommon

Lunch

A has become a pro at packing her lunch for school each day.

Over the summer I read an article that inspired me to create a new system for school lunches. So, we now have a low shelf in our pantry that holds lunch boxes, water bottles, ziploc bags, and three plastic bins labeled "Protein", "Fruit/Veggie", and "Grain". I keep the bins stocked with single-serving options (plus there's a label affixed to each that lists other options possibly found in the fruit bowl or refrigerator, if nothing in the bin seems appealing that day.) Each evening, A fills up her water bottle and chooses one item from each bin. Then she passes her lunch box off to me, and I add a "main dish" (usually a sandwich, but occasionally leftover pasta, rice/beans, etc.) and call it good. So far, it's working perfectly - A seems to like the independence of choosing what goes into her lunch, and I know she's choosing a balance of healthy, filling options. Let's hope the novelty doesn't wear off anytime soon!

For tomorrow, she chose a bag of nuts, a peach, and some Club crackers to accompany her turkey sandwich.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.