The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Virginia Creeper

One of the first plants to go into my garden was this Boston Ivy (Parthenocissus tricuspidata Veitchii), which until today, when I looked it up online, I thought was a form of Virginia Creeper. I have blipped it a few times before under that name and have done so again now for consistency. It now reaches all the way around my outbuilding and along my fence and gate, and is now some 18-19 years old, despite being in a raised bed that appears to sit on concrete.

This belongs to my autumn series, and is beginning to take on its dramatic red leaf colour, and I hope to blip it again when its transformation is complete. This section was taken on a fence beyond the far end of the outbuilding, directly above the blackberry bramble I photographed yesterday.

Boston Ivy is related to Virginia Creeper and is also grown to cover the façades of buildings. Its name derives from its widespread use for this in Boston MA, though it isn't an ivy. Confused? I am.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.