The life of wood-e

By woode

Ghosts in the Machine (correction)


I balls up and posted this on the wrong day, so here it is on eht eright day.

used to walk up this street every day, but now it just isnt on my route. Full of ghosts from the past, as is this image.


Original comments were:

Great idea, great shot! Ghots everywhere!!! ~ isa

Lovely angle! Looks a good place to stager on a saturday night?? ~ Tardy

Full of goths in the past though they seem to have moved to one of the closes between the High Street and Jeffrey Street. ~ wingpig

Great! Recognised Cockburn Street straight away. There's loads of blip opportunities down all the closes too. ~ 42

Good capture.~ Cora

A very good area for ghosts, that. Is Drew Nicol's pub still there? ~ Red

@Red...I'm not sure if it is still there. The Malt Shovel is still there and the brilliant Half Way Hoose is still next to the old Scotsman building, but haven't noticed if Drew Nicol's is still there (I've heard that he's got the Old Dock Bar in Leith). I'll look on the way home tonight. ~ Scobes

I used to lodge at the Adelphi Hotel in Cockburn Street about 35 years ago!
I think there were ghosts then as well! I love your blip. ~ Cradlehall

Ah, the Half Way Hoose...now that's a boozer. I'd always thought the Leith pub was expansion, rather than relocation - years since I've been drinking in Cockburn Street.

Is it pub time yet? ~ Red

@Red. Beer o'clock for me.
@cradlehall. I remember my grandad telling me that he went to the Adelphi Hotel to register as part of his de-mob process during the war. It had been used the the Army throughout. ~ Scobes

To all - Drew Nicol's has now become a wine bar, but Drew runs/was running the Old Chain Pier. As for the Adephi it in now a 'yuff' hostel. Still has the name on the slates on the roof if I remember rightly. As for the Half Way Hoose. best toasties in Edinburgh. ~ wood-e

very interesting tones and textures to this one - love the movement of the people ~ adamfoto

very nice pic. ~ Bella

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.