Buddy!

My buddy S on the Bach Island wall, near Oban. We had pretty good visibility and a lovely dive there!

Today I have been a muppet from start to end...

1) Left my thermals at the B&B and had to go back and get them. Fortunately no-one else was ready on time so it wasn't a problem.
2) Vaulted into a RIB so vigorously that I ended up face down in the bottom with my head against the opposite sponson.
3) Before dive 1, put my BCD on before my weightbelt so had to take it off again.
4) Dived my usual plan on the wreck of the Thesis, forgetting that I usually dive it on low water slack and this was high water... As a result everything was deeper than I expected so I ended up doing 10 mintues of decompresoin
5) After dive 2, forgot to teke my weightbelt off before trying to get back in the boat

My personal favourite however will go down in club history as "the computer incident".

At lunch I was copying dive details from my dive computer into my logbook, then I put the computer in the boot of my car with the rest of my kit while I went to the bathroom. Then I went back to the car and put my drysuit on. I went to put my computer on, but I couldn't find it. I searched the lunch room, the bathroom. the car, all my bags, the ground near the car. I couldn't find it anywhere. As I'd already dived on the computer in the morning, I really shouldn't dive in the afternoon without using it (since it knows how long I can stay down safely) so I was getting pretty wound up. Eventually I gave up and figured I would just dive a really conservative profile.

I was telling one of the guys how confused I was by the whole situation, when I remembered that when I had been putting my drysuit on it had been more difficult than usual to get it up over my bum. Suddenly it dawned on me that when I had put my computer in the car, must have put it above my drysuit, and it had fallen in. Sure enough there was a computer sized bulge on my left buttock. I managed to work it up my back so someone could retrieve it through the zip, but not without a LOT of people laughing at me!

So today I have been a bit of a muppet. Must try harder tomorrow...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.