ThisIs_WillCarroll

By willcarroll

Sunday treats

Today has been a long day, but a very good day. I feel as though it should have ended some time ago, seeing as I need to be up for work in the morning, but I don't want it to end. And I'd like to share it here first.

It's been one of those especially nice days in which very little of consequence happened. Rather I have been living by the beauty of simple things.

The morning began as I drove into the city to preach at the Methodist church. I get to do this here a few times a year. We have recently welcomed a new Deacon, Belinda, into the circuit. One of her callings is to share in worship, and it was great (earlier in the week) to meet with her and bounce ideas around of how we could worship God this morning. I just preached.

After the service, one of the congregation approached me and remarked - "I've been listening to sermons for 70 years, and I've never hear that subject preached upon before- I'm going to have to go home and think about that...". I just encouraged her to do so.

I think that it is remarkable that the Gospel has existed for 2000 years, and that people still find new things in it today.

Anyway, after all that I wandered town quietly to myself for a while, before meeting up with Peter and Lottie for coffee at Peter's Yard. The place was packed with the chatter of people renewing friendships. Universiy is back in town. I didn't have the excuse of a university summer break to have neglected these friends recently.

So we retired back to their flat, nearby, and - joined by a friend of Peter's from work, began to prepare a dinner. Well, I sat on the wicker sofa in the corner, and vaguely offered to help whilst dredging up my best advice on buying a car. Fortunately my culinary help was not really required: Lottie is a fantastic cook, and Peter isn't bad in the kitchen himself, and Peter's friend had arrived with desert from her home-nation: A superb pannacotta... I've learned that as a guest in their household it is generally best to provide conversation, an apetite, and a satisfied "than-you" once the plates are empty.

Now I am back home- and Sunday has turned into Monday. Let's see what the week may bring.

[Reading this back now in the morning, I can tell that I was tired as I wrote! Sorry about the rambling text, but I did have a nice day :) ]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.