Ingunn in Oslo

By IngunnInOslo

SOCIAL REALISM PART 5 - IT'S A JUNGLE OUT THERE!

Outside the Central Train Station in Oslo there is a gathering place for people with drug addictions. For many years there has been a debate if the police should remove them or not. The dilemmas are more than there are good solutions.

My heart bleeds when I see trousers going down, needles going in, and then people falling down when they get high enough.

Today I stopped this lovely lady while she was talking to her friend. Her name is Michelle and she wanted to talk about her life outside the Central Station. But a young man was quick to stop us by stepping between us and disrupting our conversation. I guess he didn't want her to talk with me. Perhaps he misunderstood and thought I was a journalist.

Needless to say, she lives in the city jungle! Oslo is called the Tigertown.

Our famous nobel prize winner in litterature, Bjørnstjerne Bjørnson, called it that in a poem from 1870. He felt that our town is a danger, unfriendly place. I certainly don't agree with him. Oslo is one of the safest capitals in the world. Also around the train station. I hope that I will be able to talk to Michelle again.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.