Katie's photos

By bogbumper

Yeah! C'mon! :oD

A couple of weeks ago I finally made the breakthrough and worked out that getting photos of flying dragonflies was much, much easier if you use manual and not auto-focus. But then I ran out of time and subjects to practise on.

Today I had a day off to recover from the whalewatching trip. I was mowing the lawn when this gorgeous male Southern Hawker turned up at the pond. So I downed tools, ran inside to get the camera, and spent about half an hour taking shots.

Some were better than others. I got some more that were sharp, but I like the jaunty angle as the dragonfly maneuvered in the wind (it's been quite breezy today and he made repeated sorties across the pond, so I was able to predict his movements more than normal).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.