Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Billy Bell's shop

I am trying to include blips that show something about the area I live in. Today I visited Haltwhistle, an ex-industrial town in the west of the Tyne Valley. I go here often because I walk with friends from here every Wednesday, and I'm involved in running the twice yearly walking festivals.

One of my favourite shops is in the Main Street. As you can see, Billy Bell is a purveryor of fish, meat, game and eggs. He also sells excellent fruit and veg. His pies are legendary as is his sausage. If you wish you may also buy sweets, preserves, bread and cakes in this shop. Quite amazing. Today I bought peaches, figs, chicken breasts and cooked ham (delicious). This is a truly old-fashioned shop and I always enjoy going there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.