Life Inspired

By inspiredesigns

Study of a woman (well her back that is)

I was a bit shaken today upon learning that a young man jumped off this bridge last Friday. Fishermen apparently pulled him out of the water alive, but he died that night in the hospital. This happened right before I picked my son from school, and I had wondered what had the traffic at a dead stop for 30 minutes on the bridge. I've lived here all my life and don't ever remember anyone jumping from that bridge. It is very sad.

So you might think me strange that I take photos of myself. It's certainly not because I think I'm gorgeous or sexy. I'm actually a fairly plain, somewhat chubby girl with early gray hair. I've been trying to figure out why I take photos of myself, since I've never in my life enjoyed one single photo of me. Some of me thinks that if I can make myself happy with a photograph then I could make anyone happy. But I figured out something even simpler today: I'm the only girl there is to photograph!

I live in a home full of boys. My world revolves around them, and I rarely take time for myself. Photography is my only "me" time, which I share with my boys most of the time anyways. I get so excited when I can photograph a girl or a woman. So that leaves me most of the time.

The boys are tucked in for naps, and my husband has gone to work. I'm all alone with a long night ahead after the boys wake up. So it's a shot of my shoulder and hair today. A bit abstract, but I like it....and that's what counts.

3 good things:
1. Children shouting "Bye A" to my son as we left after school. He is making friends...YES!
2. The sun came out
3. My new friend is on blip! I'll link her when I find her. Found her!!!

Update: This shot was taken with my right hand twisted behind my back pointed upward. What you see is my right shoulder sticking out from contorting my arm, and my hair in a pony tail.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.