My Angle

By myangle

Flowers at 1600

1/400th sec, f4.5, 1600ISO, 28-105mm lens @ 73mm, Canon 350D

As a Aussie bloke, flowers aren't really my thing. I very rarely photograph them. I made an exception today though. Jo got some flowers from her boss yesterday and when I got up this morning, they were sitting in the sink. It is overcast outside so the light filtering in through the window was quite soft. I couldn't resist a blip.

I have shot flowers before at 1600 ISO and I quite like the effect. I find that colour graduations in flowers are too much for the camera to capture so bright colours tend to clump into a blob. It was the same when I shot film, just not quite as bad. Shooting at 1600 tends to soften the whole image and I think helps with the colour. Yes, detail is lost, but I think it gives a different dimension to the photo. Anyway, petal detail isn't something I pay a lot of attention to. I did tone the colour down with a desaturated layer. It was an experiment I liked the look of.

Today I am uploading my blip early for a change. I have noticed that the image turnover is quite high in the blip at this time of day (mid-morning Australia). It makes a nice change to get my blip done early.

One thing I can't do with my early blip is ramble on about my day. I have only been out of bed for an hour and a half. I would have uploaded earlier but the International Blip clock only clicks over at 10am my time. It must work on GMT.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.