John Van de Graaff

By VandeGraaff

Rose Drops

My second pair of flowers in two days, this time on an afternoon walk to the post office to turn in our change-of-address forms. The morning's moderate to heavy rain had let up, giving these delicate roses a chance to accumulate generous raindrops. (Previous raindrop blips are an iris and colorful leaves.)

I watched much of the rain-truncated Ryder Cup in the morning, rooting for the Americans. I'd say, "of course," but musing about it I recalled that when I first started paying attention to the Ryder Cup, I think around 1980, the Americans had completely dominated, and I rooted for the Europeans both as underdogs and because I'd spent so much good time in Europe. Now the Europeans have won 8 of the last 12 Ryder Cups, and so I've reverted to my natural allegiance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.