Rephotographing Project

I'd mentioned this BBC Project earlier in the week and Blipper's Daily's shot down at Alloa Harbour last night spurred me on to go and try this out today. Of course history, the rain and the barbed wire fences conspired to make this less than easy.

The trouble is the picture on the BBC site we had to go on was taken in 1900 and it's a hand-coloured black and white shot. A lot has changed in the 110 years since that and there's very little left of the original harbour layout or any of the buildings. I used the GPS co-ordinates given and scrambled our way to as near that spot as possible. The only clue I could see when we got there was the faint outline of what looks like Stirling Castle or the Wallace Monument on Abbey Craig in the distance. So that's where I pointed the camera today. And this is what came out.

On the large version you can see both Stirling Castle and the Wallace Monument in the distant gloom. The factory complex on the right is the Glass Works which (I think) is still the areas biggest employer.

It's an interesting project but I think I'll be heading into the local library and seeing if there are some easier locations to rephotograph around this way.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.