andypowe11

By andypowe11

Mis-calculation

I went out for a ride after work tonight thinking that I only had to do 10.5 miles to complete my '4000 miles in a year' challenge. I did 11.5 miles, stopping en route to take this rather rushed photo because the light was fading and I didn't have my bike lights with me.

Turns out I must have messed up my calculation this morning because when I add everything up again now I still need to ride 1.7 miles!

Drat... and double drat.

I'm away in Cardiff for the next couple of days so won't get a chance to complete the 4000 miles until Thursday.

It's been a slightly frustrating day all round actually. My employer has spent the last two years or so refusing to support the UK government's Cycle to work scheme (a tax incentive to buy bikes for commuting). As soon as I buy a new bike (well, it was about 4 weeks ago I guess) they go and announce that we do now support the scheme.

I know that the tax office has changed the rules slightly on valuing the bike at the end of the first year, which means it's not quite such an attractive scheme as it used to be... but even so, it's a little annoying, not least because I'm one of the few people I know who would have used the scheme to actually buy a bike to commute on. Most people seem to use it just to buy bikes to put in the garage or use at weekends :-(

Oh well... such is life I suppose.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.