For little Cecile, almost here!

Up and Up Mount Everest

-a poem by Gus Ferguson


A snail crawled up the window pane
Across the plane, reflecting blue.
A trip that seemed to be in vain.
I asked, "Where are you traveling to?"

"You heave against steep gravity
Away from shelter and from feed.
I am perplexed, most grievously
What spurs you on? What fear? What greed?

The silence hushed my rhetoric.
The sherpa schlepped on limpidly,
Of carrot heedless and of stick
Quite unafraid. Its destiny

As clear in retrospect to me
As that of Edmund Hillary.




A few minutes ago we were informed that little Cecile, our eighth grand child was on her way ...
This will be the first for Mom Cecile and Heinrich and we trust that all will go well. As she is being delivered by caesarean section, it will most likely go quick.

I hope that for this little girl the road will never be as steep as this one of the snail ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.